It just has to make sense


I’m going to watch avengers with some friends and they insisted that I should watch Thor, Captain America and Ironman as preparation, so I watched Thor and captain America two days ago.

As I was commuting today, my mind was wandering and I found myself thinking about the movies. I still didn’t understand why Odin stole Loki. How is stealing the child of your enemy’s leader going to help with bringing the two kingdoms together? And why isn’t grownup!loki blue and why doesn’t he look like his race at all?

While thinking all that, I was reminded of what I kept repeating to my ex in my email, back at the start when the break up saga was just beginning: it just has to make sense. Show me how it makes sense.

I mean, we don’t even have to talk about proof. It just needs to be coherent in-story. Even if I’m watching, reading or understanding from outside of that framework (as we all are when we read or watch fantasy or sci-fi), I should still be able to make sense of it. It just needs to hang as a coherent story. Tell me the premise, tell me the rules and off we go.

When you read Harry Potter, you don’t fault the story by saying “They can’t do that, there’s no such thing as magic.” That’s one of the premises we’re starting with, that there is such a thing as magic. But you can fault it for inconsistencies. You can fault it for not following it’s own rules, or not having any rules. A fantasy story’s not much fun if the characters can do anything whenever, making up new rules as they go along with minimal or no explanations.

Isn’t it a mark of a well written premise if, the closer you inspect it, the more questions you ask, the more you find that it hangs all together? That not only are there answers to the questions you’re asking (Why is Loki not blue? How exactly does a time turner work?), the answers are satisfying ones that are consistent and coherent with everything else in that universe?

Reality should be the best at this because it’s reality. You don’t have to make sure it fits, make sure it’s consistent. It already is! If your reality is inconsistent, you can know that it must be your interpretation that’s suspect, and not reality itself.

If this story you’re telling me is reality, why does it seem to make less in-story sense then brainless action movies? Why does it make less sense the more I stare at it? Why do you have to do the same acrobatics a back-peddling author has to do if he discovers he made a mistake, a loophole or contradiction?

If it’s my interpretation that’s wrong, why is it so hard for you to help me see where I went wrong? My invitation still stands… I just want to understand.

4 thoughts on “It just has to make sense

  1. Sometimes when a relationship ends and things are unresolved, it is because the two people’s memories of what was said and done, and understanding of their own and the other person’s motives, are so different that common ground cannot be reached.

    In a situation like that, I think the person who walks away and won’t talk about it any more is behaving appropriately. In my experience, she would only do that if she had tried talking it out, more than once, and it was unproductive.

    If that’s the case, let her go, wish her well, remember the good things, leave her alone, and move on. Grieving is OK for a couple of weeks – but then you need to look at all the other things you want to accomplish in life, and focus on them. You will be a happier, healthier and more attractive person when the grieving is over.

    It’s a beautiful world. Be happy.

    • ah, i was actually referring to religion/christianity actually, not the relationship. :\

      the start of the break up wasn’t really specifically a rift between us, or fighting or anything like that. It was that she was going through some sort of ‘spiritual awakening’, so i was trying my best to understand what she was going through, and trying my best to understand christianity.

Leave a Reply

