Unconditional Love


I love you
No matter what you say or do.
I love you
Even if you don’t want to receive it.

Your love is not mine to have,
not mine to demand or pled or beg for.
Your attentions are not mine to vie for
to capture and hold down.
Your actions aren’t mine to control,
Your decisions aren’t mine to make.
Even your heart was never mine,
and you were never mine either.

These things aren’t for possessing.
These things can’t be possessed.
If you feel otherwise, it is but an illusion,
That will be shattered eventually.

These things,
They are meant for giving.

Like a song sung,
A poem, or dance,
Or a breeze felt,
Or even the sun on your skin.
Given freely
For you to receive, enjoy,
appreciate, cherish

but not to possess.

My love is mine to give
And I hope I’ll give it freely
My love is mine to give
and you can’t take that away from me.

21 thoughts on “Unconditional Love

      • Good work for a “first time in a long time.” I am going to do a series of articles on heart health and diet shortly. I’d sure like to use the art as a side post with credit given to you. Any suggestions?

          • I would like to use the art to accompany my posts as they relate to heart health. Let’s face it…it’s great art. It’s soft and not scientific–in other words there is emotion to it.

              • That’s why I asked rather than do the “standard” internet ploy of just ripping off the artist. Ha! Could you send me a jpeg and exactly how you want the credits and link? In terms of size of jpeg, sometimes I think bigger is better but I’m no techie!
                Thanks in advance
                My e-mail is: DrKenRomeo@gmail.com
                PS: I’ll be working on the articles shortly and will let you know when I am about to publish the series.

  1. Pingback: Sending and receiving the message of love | Raintree Branches

Leave a Reply

