The delightful hot-potato that is Gayness


Just reading this article, One Town’s War on Gay Teens, makes me feel so madder-than-mad at humanity in general and certain groups of humanity in particular.

Recently a friend passed me a book she bought from her church, entitled “Born Gay?” by Dr John Tay. It aims to “examine the scientific evidence for homosexuality”, as stated on the cover. What it does is gives individual summaries (which are slightly too brief, in my opinion) for a relatively large number of scientific papers on the topic and draws an overall conclusion from them: genes don’t fully account for homosexuality (and environmental factors play a bigger role) and therefore homosexuality is a choice.

Well, I’ve so far only scanned through the book, so I hope to give it a thorough reading and a fair hearing in time. I will also hopefully be able to check out those articles he features myself, and find others as well, but in the meantime, here’s my humble two cents on the nature of sexuality:

I think, like so many aspects of human experience, it is incredibly personal and incredibly variable. I think it is definitely a huge dash of nature, and another dash of nurture, and I think even the ratio of nature to nurture differs from person to person. I think sexuality is a continuous spectrum, or rather, two spectrum: gender identity (how much of a man/woman you identify as) and sexual orientation (how attracted you are to men/women/both/none). And I think how fluid a person’s sexuality is (how movable they are on that spectrum over time) is itself another spectrum.

But that’s just one person’s opinion; for it to have any weight you’d need to talk to others, read more, have some evidence to substantial and make sure that your theory actually does match reality and isn’t just some abstract idea that sounds nice on paper. So, still exploring. :)

Leave a Reply

